Pokemon Training…

Don’t read this if you don’t like Pokemon…Don’t read this if you don’t like the details of Pokemon…There is very little of what I think is insightfulness (if any) that will be useful for anyone who has no interest in competitive Pokemon here…

I’m taking this post to talk about Pokemon Sun and Moon, and my adventures in breeding…

So, I play Pokemon competitively…And decided that I wanted to try my hand at the VGC again (I have not done well in the past, as I suck at Doubles, and that’s what format the VGC is always in)…

So, Talonflame has this ability called Gale Wings…Last generation, the ability gave your Flying Attacks +1 priority (Priority is the first factor in the order of attacks, each turn…It’s why Quick Attack always strikes before most attacks)…Last gen, there were no limitations, you had +1 priority Brave Bird (120 Base Power, trust me, it’s really high powered, it also damages with recoil), or Acrobatics (When you’re not holding an item, this is 110 Base Power with no drawbacks)…Or Roost (Which removes your Flying Typing for the turn and heals your HP)…You get the gist…The only real drawback is that Talonflame doesn’t have that much power…

So, Gale Wings was nerfed this gen, so that it will only give your Flying Attacks priority if you are at full HP (which is reasonable, as Acrobatics, Brave Bird, and Roost are all attacks that are pretty broken, even if the user’s Attack is a little below average, like Talonflame’s)…Now, that’s a pretty big nerf, but I didn’t immediately see why everyone just dropped Talonflame…Will get back to this in a minute…

Tapu Lele is a new legendary pokemon that summons Psychic Terrain upon entering the battle, for 5 turns…This terrain increases the power of all Psychic-type attacks by 50%, but the part that is relevant here is the effect that blocks priority moves that target any pokemon that is touching the ground (Applies to anything that isn’t Flying-Type or a pokemon with the “Levitate” ability)…

Now, my initial understanding of it was that it prevented all grounded pokemon from using Priority-boosted attacks (Which would apply to Gale Wings)…So, with that understanding, Talonflame could use Priority attacks, since it’s part Flying-Type…So, okay, because of the prevalence to Tapu Lele actually encourage the usage of Talonflame (One of the few legal Fire-Type pokemon this year, btw)?…Even with the initial drawback, with the addition of Z-Moves (At the cost of using your Item slot, you get a very powerful first Attack, might explain in another Pokemon related post)…

It didn’t make sense to me why Talonflame wouldn’t be more popular, given that, in my head, the Psychic terrain would not affect Talonflame in any way…But it works DEFENSIVELY, not offensively, and suddenly, it made sense to me why the Gale Wings nerf in combination with the prevalence of Tapu Lele ultimately killed off Talonflame in the higher tiers…Because with Gale Wings, it loses access to its Flying STAB completely…

And here I am, having hatched 59 eggs, in the most disorganized fashion I have ever managed…Blargh…

JUST WANTED TO EXPRESS MY SADNESS HERE…

Author: Plastic Dinosaur

I am literally a plastic dinosaur..."Literally" is not an exaggeration...My friends call me Dino (pronounced Dee-no)...

Leave a Reply

