Friendship Levels?…

So, one major purpose for this blog was to talk about things that inspired some game ideas I had…

So, a while back, I took a little adventure, hopping around various cities in Colorado…As various different friendships of mine were tested, I was also forming tons of new friendships, due to the way I was living…Moving from place to place, constantly, was overall a stupid plan to stick to for longer than a month…But that’s not the point here…

You meet a large variety of people and can end up in a variety of different settings using AirBnB…

Sometimes, you’ll find yourself with an entire family that feeds you and helps you out the best they can, sometimes you’ll find people who are just roommates, and sometimes you’ll have your own little apartment building…Do note, that while I didn’t really even attempt to take many precautions (The only immediate red flag to me was potential bed times), I never ran into anything shady (related to BnB) in the 3 months I was in Colorado…

I’ll go into specific experiences, maybe some other time, but focusing forward, you move to a new area, you go exploring, you meet people, woo, obvious big deep point…

But for real, it’s obvious it’s going to happen, but you can’t get the full effect simply knowing that…

Moving on…

Animal Crossing is a wonderful game, look it up…A GameCube is like -$23, go find one online, get a copy of Animal Crossing which may admittedly be a slightly high price, depending on condition…Give yourself a week, at least, with Animal Crossing…Preferably a month…I have been playing Animal Crossing games for around 15 years (First year of release in the US)…

In short, they’re life simulation games where you’re a human in a small town of anthropomorphic animals as residents and workers…The main goal of the game is to pay off your debts, but the game never ends…It creates the illusion of a world that’s always alive…

Life simulation games are a neat bunch that somehow manage to make us forget that we’re playing a game about chores and bill-paying…Another common feature that all of them share is friendship building…

It’s simple friendship building…It’s all just an invisible counter that increases when you do positive things or decreases when you do negative things that have a direct impact on the character you’re trying to build a relationship with…Hell, there are many cases where the number isn’t even invisible…

I wanted to make a life simulation game and an adventure game, based on a more realistic version of relationship building (Albeit, I have no reliable experience on the romantic side, but I’m talking about friendship, exclusively)…

Relationships, in reality, are affected by more than just direct communication or lackthereof…Befriending certain people won’t just lower your friendship level with other people, it will put a maximum cap on it, in many situations…You can get along with everyone, but the people your closely associated with will, in some way, no matter how significant or insignificant the impact, hinder your ability to befriend others…

Aside from this, actions you do that only affect yourself will still have an effect on your friendships, in some cases…They may think less of you or lose respect for you…The opposite may happen…It might make your positive actions stand out more to them, while they become more understanding of what they see as a negative action…

It’s all fun…That’s all I’m going to write about for this entry…I know it’s nothing groundbreaking, but I’ll go into more detail in a future blog post (I’m never going to specify exactly what my next post is gonna be about or when I’ll return to a related topic)…

I just wanted to talk about a specific mechanic in video games that has my interest…Later, Dino…

Author: Plastic Dinosaur

I am literally a plastic dinosaur..."Literally" is not an exaggeration...My friends call me Dino (pronounced Dee-no)...

Leave a Reply

